way out of the town we came across the brig Amity. "The Amity
sailed from Sydney on 9th November 1826, carrying a party under
the command of Major Edmund Lockyer, who had orders to form a settlement
at King George Sound.
difficult voyage, the first half battling through heavy weather
in Bass Strait and the second enduring the summer heat of the westward
run, the brig reached Princess Royal Harbour on Christmas Day.
party comprised the commandant Major Edmund Lockyer, a captain,
surgeon, storekeeper, 18 rank and file soldiers, and 23 convicts,
mostly tradesmen. Also on board were the vessel's own crew and a
naval party comprising Lt Colson Festing, a quartermaster, midshipman
and a marine batman - and stores for six months, including sheep
back into private ownership, in 1831, the Amity was operated in
Tasmania until, in June 1845, she was wrecked in Bass Strait on
an uncharted sandbank.
to build a replica of the brig Amity commenced in 1972. After much
discussion and research, construction started in 1975, with local
boat builder Mr Stan Austin as project supervisor and Mr Pieter
van de Brugge as leading shipwright. Other local craftsmen joined
the team, with the aim of making the replica the focal point of
celebrations of the 150th anniversary of the brig's arrival."
taken from http://www.historicalbany.com.au/amity.htm